My first ink

November 24, 2014 § Leave a comment

This time two years ago, I got my first tattoo. People asked where it was located. Why I had it written there in the part which was believed by some to be on my inner thighs with this zoomed in photo.

image

A few asked if it was because of a man. Later on, strangers, acquaintances and friends have asked to see it closely. And when they see the phrase carefully written on my skin, they don’t ask what it means. A French guy I met in Bali even said there’s a similar saying in their language. I wish I had remembered the words exactly.

Just to make things clear, no, I did not get inked because of a man from my recent past. Coincidentally around that period, I learned that my happiness did not depend on being in a relationship. I decided to break my own heart by letting go and letting be. I learned the hard way about what I thought I wanted in a significant other but greater things mattered.

I realize now that Octobers and Novembers of my adult years have become significant months of my life. I don’t know if it has something to do with my birthday and life testing how mature I am. The words of my 24-year old self still reminds me years later that I should never give up on great love but never will I settle for less. I still am and will forever be a hopeless romantic. But I am never without hope.

P.S.
So maybe I’ll finally get another piece this year. We’ll see.

Tagged: , , ,

What say you?

What’s this?

You are currently reading My first ink at that and something else entirely.

meta

